SWCD 2018.jpg

About Us

The Bastrop County Soil and Water Conservation District #340 received its Certificate of Organization February 25, 1958 on the dissolution of the Bastrop-Fayette District and the creation of two new Districts.

The SWCD works directly with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service to help farmers plan and apply conservation practices that benefit the health of their land and that of their neighbors through reduced erosion, healthier soil, and improved water quality and quantity. SWCD Directors are elected to represent each region of the county to cooperate with federal conservation efforts and to focus on local resource concerns.

The SWCD is here to educate and encourage the wise and productive use of natural resources. It is our goal to ensure the availability of those resources for future generations, so that all Texans' present and future needs can be met in a manner that promotes a clean, healthy environment and strong economic growth.

Bastrop SWCD Directors

Brook Hurta, Chairman

Robert Mauck, Vice Chairman

Melvin Dube, Secretary- Treasurer

Jerry Ingram, Member

Jeff Burns, Member


Camille Wiseman, District Technician

Ruby Owen, District Clerk